South Beach Diet – Weight Loss Plan

South Beach Diet

*Some of the links herein may be affiliate links. This means I may earn a small commission should you choose
to make a purchase using my link. Please read full disclosure for complete details*

How Does the South Beach Diet Work?

The South Beach Diet is divided into three phases.  In Phase One the dieter eats normal size portions, however, all carbohydrates are restricted to give the body a complete rest from fluctuating blood sugar and insulin levels.  The theory is this will help to resolve insulin resistance.

Phase One is the strictest phase of the diet.  During Phase One, the banned foods list includes bread, rice, potatoes, pasta, fruit, milk, sweets, cake, biscuits, ice cream, sugar and alcohol.  Low Glycemic index vegetables are allowed, but the focus is on eating lean meat, chicken, fish, eggs, low-fat cheese, some nuts and olive oil. The duration for Phase One is 14 days and dieters may expect to lose 8 to 12 pounds in this phase.

In Phase Two, low Glycemic index carbs, including most fruits, granary bread, wholegrain cereals, pasta and low-fat milk are re-introduced into your diet, while weight loss continues at 1 to 2 pounds per week.  The idea is to stay with this phase until you have reached your target weight.

Finally, in Phase Three an even wider variety of foods is introduced back into the diet. This phase is aimed at keeping your weight steady and it is recommended you continue this diet for life.  At this point, it is all about maintaining your desired weight while enjoying a healthy balanced diet.  Should your weight begin to climb, simply return to Phase One.

For each phase, there are no limits on portion sizes .. you simply eat enough to satisfy your appetite.  You are encouraged to eat three meals daily, as well as snacks each day.

How much weight do you need to lose?
South Beach Diet can help!

Similar Posts